Pages Navigation Menu

Delivering News From The Source

Brady named MVP, headlines NFL Awards night

Carson went looking to make a play against the number 2 defense in the league at home against the Denver Broncos in the Eagle’s week 9 51-23 win. Photo by Google Images

By Zach Throne,

History was made on February 3, 2018 when the NFL awarded New England Patriots QB Tom Brady the Most Valuable Player award.

Brady became the oldest athlete to receive MVP in the major four sports in America, winning the award at age 40. He led the NFL with 4,577 passing yards to go along with 32 touchdowns.

MVP is the most prestigious of the performance-based awards given out on NFL Honors night, but there are also several other important honors handed out on this night, as well.

Defensive Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year were the Los Angeles Rams’ Aaron Donald and Todd Gurley, respectively.

This is the first time the DPOY and OPOY have been given to players on the same team since Jamal Lewis and Ray Lewis for the Baltimore Ravens back in 2003.

Donald and Gurley were not the only teammate duo to win a pair of awards, though: Saints’ rookies Marshon Lattimore and Alvin Kamara took home the Rookie Defensive Player of the Year and the Rookie Offensive Player of the Year awards.

This feat has not been achieved by rookie teammates since 1967 when Detroit’s Mel Farr and Lem Barney did the same.

Rams Head Coach Sean McVay was the youngest head coach in NFL history when he was hired before the season, and his presence was surely felt when he won the Coach of the Year award. Not bad for a 31-year old.

Mike Zimmer of the Minnesota Vikings finished second in COY voting, but his Offensive Coordinator Pat Shurmur was voted the Assistant Coach of the Year.

The Comeback Player of the Year award goes to a player that either has been sidelined because of injuries or simply has not been able to play well the past couple years, but he had a great following. This years “Comeback Player of the Year” was the Los Angeles Chargers WR Keenan Allen.

JJ Watt won the Walter Payton Man of the Year award for his efforts towards Hurricane Harvey relief in Houston. Raising over $16 million dollars for the cause.

Waldorf student-athlete and football fanatic, Drew Christianson, spoke of this prestigious award. “I think this is the most important award in football because football is much deeper than just a game. Through football, we learn many life lessons, and this award goes to the man who expresses these characteristics more than anyone else.”

The FedEx Air and Ground Players of the Year were Carson Wentz from the Philadelphia Eagles and Todd Gurley, respectively.

The Sportsmanship Award honored Carolina Panthers LB Luke Keuchly.

Celebration of the Year went to the Philadelphia Eagles rendition of the “Electric Slide,” while the Clutch Player of the Year award went to Saints QB Drew Brees.

Stefon Diggs and the Minnesota Vikings won the Bridgestone Elite Performance Play of the Year with their “Minneapolis Miracle” that beat the New Orleans Saints as time expired.

Nick Harrison, Waldorf football player and avid Vikings fan had this to say about the play: “The Miracle play will forever be the best play in the history of the Minnesota Vikings franchise.”

Finally, during this NFL Honors Night, the NFL also announced the 2018 Hall of Fame Induction class: Ray Lewis, Randy Moss, Brian Dawkins, Brian Urlacher, Terrell Owens, Bobby Beathard, Robert Brazile, and Jerry Kramer.