Pages Navigation Menu

Delivering News From The Source

Graffunder, Ogbemudia and Fricke named to NSAA All-Conference Teams

By Zach Throne

Taylor Fricke looks to create the right angle for the inside finish on Nov. 16, 2018 in Forest City, IA. (Mike Stetson)

Three seniors women’s basketball players, Taylor Fricke, Michaela Graffunder and Ameh Ogbemudia, earned all-conference honors from the North Star Athletic Association.

The three led the team in scoring and were pivotal in a bounce back year from last year’s disappointing finish.

Graffunder, a junior college transfer, ended her collegiate career with over 1,000 points and 500 rebounds. She was selected to the NSAA first team.

Ogbemudia also eclipsed 1,000 points during her career at Waldorf University. She earned her way onto the all-NSAA second team.

Fricke accomplished the 1,000 point feat first out of the three women and earned herself an Honorable Mention selection for a second year in a row.

Graffunder was a weapon on all fronts for the Warriors this season, resulting in a top-four finish in the NSAA. She led the team in scoring (14,1) and rebounding (6.9), also in total assists (98) and steals (44). 

Ogbemudia and Fricke averaged north of 12 points and five boards a game to add the Warriors balanced attack.

Fricke did not play in the home playoff game—which closed in a season-ending loss to Presentation College (a team the Warriors beat twice already)—because she suffered a concussion days prior.

“Taylor was a huge loss for the Presentation game,” said junior guard Morgan Straight. “We missed her and it was hard to see her go out without being able to play in her last game.”

The first round loss to five-seed Presentation left the team disappointed in a potential run at the conference tournament title and a national playoff berth.

“It was awesome to see the girls play the way they did following the rough season they had last year,” said strength coach Drew Christianson. “We are going to miss the seniors from the team, but we are looking to build on this season.”

Mayville State earned both NSAA Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year in Joelle Ertl and Dennis Hutter, respectively.

Bellevue took home the NSAA Defensive Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year in Shayla Dean and Faith Ross.